Pita Pizzas

Despite the potential for disaster, last night’s dinner went OK.

I didn’t get the beef and noodles we were supposed to have made.

I forgot to pull the pitas out of the freezer before work.

I didn’t cook up a pound of spicy sausage as I had anticipated doing.

Once I thawed the pitas and had them on the pizza oven covered in sauce, I found out that B had eaten all the leftover pepperoni from when his sister and brother-in-law had visited earlier this month.

So we had cheese pita pizzas instead of pepperoni ones. But I thought they were pretty good. G ate several slices of hers, B and I each ate two. Definitely something I plan on doing again!

Please note that I own a Presto Pizzazz Pizza Oven that I bought B for his birthday a couple years ago. This thing is SO fun! I love watching and smelling my pizza bake! If you’re going to do this in an oven, I have no idea at what temperature you should cook these. Since you’re not baking the dough, all you’re needing to do is crisp up the pita and melt the cheese. 350-degrees should work, no?

Pita Pizzas

1 pkg whole pitas (bought on sale for $1/pkg)
8 oz mozzarella cheese
1 jar pizza sauce
(Should have also had pepperoni, but you can top these with any of your favorite pizza toppings.)

Arrange three pitas on Pizzazz tray. Spread two tablespoons of sauce on each pita. Top with cheese and toppings (I added some crushed red pepper flakes to mine. B and G just had cheese.)

Set Pizzazz to cook both top and bottom for about 12 minutes, or until pita is crisp and cheese begins to brown.

Serve 3 pitas to everyone. I cut G’s into 6 slices, and the grownups got 4 slices each.

Repeat with remaining two pitas. By the time B and I ate our first pizza, the second ones were almost finished. It worked out well.

Leave a Reply

