Exciting Change (yes, already)

I work just a few miles from two different Aldi’s stores. So why haven’t I been shopping there? Because I always shop on Saturday, and I’m not at work on Saturday, and I don’t feel like going to the Big City to shop. I like going to the Big Town, because our bank is there (it’s one of those one-branch, one-location, one-size-(doesn’t always)-fits all bank…) and I have to deposit my check every week. (On a different note, I’m thinking about switching to one of the national chain banks that are all over in the Big City… we’ll see. Must ask B.)

Our shopping bill for me, B, and almost-two-year-old G /tears up a bit/ is usually close to $100 a week. That. Is. Ridiculous. (This is groceries, as well as household essentials, dog food, cat food, cat litter, etc., plus everything we need for all the other parts of  our lives.) I’ve read several articles about “How to Reduce Your Grocery Budget in 10 Easy Steps.” But you know what!? I’m already doing those things! So something’s gotta give. My family has shopped at Aldi’s for years. So I’m going to give it a try for a few months.

I stumbled upon a couple of different reasons why I am going to give Aldi’s a shot. First, I was listening to the Dave Ramsey show yesterday afternoon and I kept hearing these ads for “E-Mealz“. Pay $5 a month and they provide you with 5-7 (depends on the plan you pick) dinner meals, complete with shopping list, to a store of your choice (THEY MATCH THE SALES UP WITH THEIR MENU!). Plus, they claim that they very rarely repeat menus, though they will go back to certain extras. I’m HIGHLY considering signing up for the 5-meal plan for a family of two (it says it can feed 2-3 people) to Aldi’s. You pay for three months at a time, so I could try it out for three months and go back to what I’m doing if I don’t like it. The 5 meals means that I can still add in some of our favorites, plus I’m still in charge of lunches and such. It’s definitely worth checking out if you are even slightly interested.

Also, while I was trying to decide if I wanted to go the E-Mealz route, I went snooping around on Aldi’s website. Wowzor. I’m in love. You wanna know what I found?! AN ALDI MEAL PLANNER!!! Sorry for the bold and caps, but I’m psyched about this. I haven’t checked it out in detail yet (just signed up and haven’t received the confirmation email), but I can tell you if the store has meals based on its own products, that’s super awesome! That COULD help with the extra couple days of planning I would need to do with E-Mealz, or it could be so easy that I wouldn’t even need E-Mealz. We’ll see.

Anyway, just wanted to let you know that I think a drastic change is coming to our menu!

One Response to Exciting Change (yes, already)

  1. Kari says:

    We love Aldi’s!! Of course, I rarely shop there because it’s not as easy to get to (frankly, I really only go to Sam’s Club for major shopping and Dillons for essentials). I’m curious if the E-Mealz has a vegetarian option?!

    We really need to eat at home more!!!

Leave a Reply

